ZERO TO HYDROGEN HERO PROGRAMME

Become a Hydrogen Hero
A series of interactive workshops delivered by leading hydrogen experts

24, 26, 27 & 30 November, 1 & 4 December 2020

JOIN OUR ZERO TO HYDROGEN HERO PROGRAMME

Hydrogen is critical for the deep decarbonisation of heat, power, mobility and industry. That’s why we have called this programme of unique hydrogen masterclasses the Zero to Hydrogen Hero programme. Throughout November and December we will be delivering 6 different live, online, interactive workshops to take you from Zero to Hydrogen Hero in understanding both the technology and commercial business opportunities in the growing hydrogen industry.

REGISTER NOW

EXCLUSIVE SPONSOR
 

 

Hydrogen Key
Concepts

Hydrogen Fuelling Infrastructure

Factors in the Cost of Hydrogen

FULL WORKSHOP DETAILS BELOW

Please note, each session will be delivered twice throughout the day, once at 09:00 CET and again at 15:00 CET

09.00 CET : London 08.00 • Paris 09.00 • Dubai 11.00 • New Delhi 12.30 • Singapore 15.00 • Tokyo 16.00 • Sydney 17.00
15.00 CET : London 14.00 • Sao Paulo 10.00 • New York 09.00 • Mexico City 08.00 • San Francisco 06.00

Nov

24

Nov

26

Nov

27

Nov

30

Dec

01

Dec

04

HYDROGEN AND THE NATURAL GAS INDUSTRY

09:00 - 15:00

HYDROGEN AND THE NATURAL GAS INDUSTRY

Introduction to the workshop:

It’s evident that those whose business currently depends on natural gas, wherever they lie in that value chain, have a particular interest in the development of hydrogen economies. This session examines the players who are active in hydrogen, with particular focus on those from the natural gas value chain and the projects they are promoting and investing into. It describes some of the opportunities and challenges that exist in transitioning from natural gas towards hydrogen blends; or, eventually, 100% hydrogen.

On the upstream (production) side, it will include issues around ‘blue hydrogen’, in particular the status and prospects for carbon capture and storage. Downstream, technical issues of infrastructure and equipment upgrades will be covered, along with business issues of market demand, policy, competition and economics.

Opportunity and risk in the natural gas sector

• Climate policy and threats to natural gas usage
• Natural gas players and their involvement in hydrogen projects (examples)
• The role of policy and regulation in gas switching: what are the key requirements?
• A critical assessment of hydrogen in the context of natural gas substitution alternatives

Blue hydrogen production from natural gas

• Leveraging existing business and comparative advantages (Example: Equinor)
• How ‘green’ is ‘blue’?
• Large-scale carbon capture, utilisation and storage: status and prospects
• Innovative and emerging approaches to easing or valuing carbon capture 

Blending hydrogen into natural gas networks

• Technical challenges, including energy density, pressure and pipeline embrittlement
• Examples of current and upcoming blending projects
• Behavioural change and paths of least resistance: their importance for gas switching
• Deployment strategies and timeframes for natural gas blending

Using blended hydrogen/natural gas streams

• Reviewing the technical constraints and end-use appliance challenges
• Domestic appliances, including boilers and fuel cells
• Turbines for hydrogen power generation
• Is natural gas / hydrogen substitution a transition pathway or a dead-end?

Workshop Leader:

John Massey

Managing  Director
Grey Cells Energy Ltd

Dr John Massey is Managing Director of Grey Cells Energy Ltd., where he conducts independent market assessment and opportunity/risk analysis for clean energy technologies. He delivers market briefings and training courses worldwide, along with strategy and business plan consulting to help companies (particularly SMEs) position themselves to best grasp new low-carbon market opportunities.

John was one of the original co-founders of the Green Power Academy over ten years ago and has continued to work with us as a regular course trainer ever since.

Contact us today:

To discuss group booking discounts, contact us today:

Jonathan Hull
Head of Delegate Sales

Jonathan.Hull@greenpowerglobal.com
+44 (0) 203 355 4207

Upcoming World Hydrogen Academy Courses

Blue & Turquoise Hydrogen & CCS

1 - 3 December

FIND OUT MORE

Green Hydrogen Projects

8 - 10 December

FIND OUT MORE

Decarbonising Shipping

9 - 11 December

FIND OUT MORE